First Chapter, First Paragraph & Teaser Tuesday: Prince of Fools by Mark Lawrence

fistchapFirst chapter, First paragraph, is a meme hosted by Bibliophile by the Sea.  This is a book I picked up on a sales counter mainly because of the cover picture.  Prince of Fools (Book I in The Red Queen’s War) is described by The Washington Post as an epic fantasy.  Here is the introduction to Chapter One:

I’m a liar and a cheat and a coward, but I will never, ever, let a friend down.  Unless of course not letting them down requires honesty, fair play, or bravery.

 

Teaser Tuesday is a weekly bookish meme, hosted by MizB of Books and a Beat. TeaserTuesdays-ADailyRhythm3-300x203Anyone can play along! Just do the following:

• Grab your current read
• Open to a random page
• Share two (2) “teaser” sentences from somewhere on that page
• BE CAREFUL NOT TO INCLUDE SPOILERS! (make sure that what you share doesn’t give too much away! You don’t want to ruin the book for others!)
• Share the title & author, too, so that other TT participants can add the book to their TBR Lists if they like your teasers!

From Chapter Four:

Now, I know how to fall, but the drop from the stables roof would kill a Chinee [sic] acrobat, and so the speed with which I ran along the stone gutter was a careful balance between my desire not to fall to my death and my desire not to be stabbed to death by Maeres Allus or one of his enforcers.

This isn’t normally my kind of book and I’m not very far into it yet, but it does barrel along at breakneck speed and keeps your attention.  It seems a bit along the lines of Game of Thrones — the TV series not the books, as I haven’t read the books yet.  Does it sound like your kind of book?  What are you reading?

About mysm2000

Having taught elementary school for more than 25 years and been involved in many amazing technology and curriculum projects, I find I've developed a myriad of interests based on literature I've read and music I've heard. I've followed The Wright Three to Chicago, Ansel Adams to Colorado, The Kon Tiki Expedition to Easter Island, Simon & Garfunkel lyrics to New York City, Frank Lloyd Wright to Fallingwater, Pennsylvania, and have only just begun.
This entry was posted in Adult Book, Adventure, fiction, Meme, Musings and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

27 Responses to First Chapter, First Paragraph & Teaser Tuesday: Prince of Fools by Mark Lawrence

  1. I’m not really into epic fantasy, but I have been know to pick up a book soley based on the cover. Girl Who Reads

    Like

  2. Vicki says:

    I’m not at all a fan of this genre, but you might have just changed my mind a bit with this book. I laughed a few times while reading what you shared.

    Like

  3. Diane D says:

    No sorry, no fantasy for me.

    Like

  4. priyankaswonderland says:

    Yeah it does sound Game of Thrones types. Hope enjoy it!
    Check out My TT

    Like

  5. Yvo says:

    I like the sound of both the opening and the teaser! I think I have this one on my TBR pile; I normally enjoy reading fantasy and this one definitely sounds entertaining.

    Happy reading! Here is my teaser of All The Missing Girls by Megan Miranda.

    Like

    • mysm2000 says:

      I may have to go back and read his first trilogy when I finish this. Your book, All the Missing Girls, sounds kind of scary for me but it intrigues me so I might give it a try. Thanks for coming by.

      Liked by 1 person

      • Yvo says:

        All The Missing Girls is not too scary; it’s more of a suspense story where two girls have disappeared ten years apart and it’s not clear what happened to them or who is responsable… Definitely interesting!

        Liked by 1 person

  6. I rarely read fantasy, but that opening made me laugh. Enjoy!

    Like

  7. Alice Audrey says:

    Yep, it sounds like my kind of read. I like the barrelling along bit, and the careful balance of one death as opposed to the other.

    Like

  8. Hmm, probably not my kind of read, but it does sound intense and full of near-misses. Enjoy! Here’s mine: “FLIGHT PATTERNS”

    Like

  9. Beth F says:

    I like epic fantasy … haven’t read this yet. I’ll add it to the list.

    Like

  10. Wendy Runyon says:

    The opening got me chuckling. I like the sound of this one quite a bit. I enjoy fantasy novels and will have to look this one up. It sounds right up my alley.

    Like

    • mysm2000 says:

      It’s the first of a series (?), trilogy (?), and he has a previous trilogy called The Broken Empire which sounds like it’s in the same vein. Thanks for stopping by.

      Like

Leave a Reply

