First Chapter, First Paragraph & Tuesday Teaser: Then Again by Diane Keaton

fistchapFirst Chapter, First Paragraph, is a meme hosted by Bibliophile by the Sea.  I picked up this book from one of my favourite Canadian stores, Giant Tiger.  I really enjoyed it.  Here’s the opening from Diane Keaton‘s memoir, Then Again:

THINK

Mom loved adages, quotes, slogans.  There were always little reminders pasted on the kitchen wall  For example, the word THINK.  I found THINK thumbtacked on a bulletin board in her darkroom.  I saw it Scotch-taped on a pencil box she’d collaged. I even found a pamphlet titled THINK on her bedside table.  Mom liked to THINK.  In a notebook she wrote, I’m reading Tom Robbin’s book Even Cowgirls Get the Blues.  The passage about marriage ties in with women’s struggle for accomplishment.  I’m writing this down for future THINKING . . . She followed with a Robbins quote: “For most poor dumb brainwashed women marriage is the climactic experience.  For men, marriage is a matter of efficient logistics: the male gets his food, bed, laundry, TV. . . . offspring and creature comforts all under one roof. . . .  ThenAgainKeatonBut for a woman, marriage is surrender.  Marriage is when a girl gives up the fight. . . . and from then on leaves the truly interesting and significant actions to her husband who has bargained to ‘take care’ of her. . . . Women live longer than men because they haven’t been living.”  Mom liked to THINK about life, especially the experience of being a woman.  She liked to write about it, too.

TeaserTuesdays-ADailyRhythm3-300x203

Teaser Tuesday is a weekly bookish meme, hosted by MizB of Books and a Beat.
Anyone can play along! Just do the following:

• Grab your current read
• Open to a random page
• Share two (2) “teaser” sentences from somewhere on that page
• BE CAREFUL NOT TO INCLUDE SPOILERS! (make sure that what you share doesn’t give too much away! You don’t want to ruin the book for others!)
• Share the title & author, too, so that other TT participants can add the book to their TBR Lists if they like your teasers!

Here’s mine from the same book:

The process of learning how to explore her own unanswered questions came from the action of moving a pen across paper.  How had she found time?  Not while preparing the endless tuna casseroles and cheese enchiladas that became leftovers for four lunch boxes five days a week; not at the kitchen counter, with wilting Kellogg’s Corn Flakes sprinkled with wheat germ waiting to be cleared.  p.57

I wonder how many readers also write in order to process how to explore their own unanswered questions.  Do you?  Would you keep reading?

 

About mysm2000

Having taught elementary school for more than 25 years and been involved in many amazing technology and curriculum projects, I find I've developed a myriad of interests based on literature I've read and music I've heard. I've followed The Wright Three to Chicago, Ansel Adams to Colorado, The Kon Tiki Expedition to Easter Island, Simon & Garfunkel lyrics to New York City, Frank Lloyd Wright to Fallingwater, Pennsylvania, and have only just begun.
This entry was posted in Actress, Adult Book, Author, coming of age, Meme, Memoir, Opinion and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to First Chapter, First Paragraph & Tuesday Teaser: Then Again by Diane Keaton

  1. Diane D says:

    I love Diane keaton and took this out of library but, I never got to it.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. fuonlyknew says:

    I adore Diane and would love to read this!

    My TT from Who Walks The Night

    Like

  3. yvonne473 says:

    I love Diane Keaton. I’d definitely keep reading. I wonder if I could get this on audio to listen to in the car.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I rarely read nonfiction, but I’ve been wanting to change that. I may have to add this book to my TBR. 🙂
    Thanks for stopping by my Teaser Tuesday earlier!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. I don’t generally read celebrity memoirs, although occasionally one has caught my attention enough to want to pick it up. Usually the funny ones.

    I like the teaser you shared especially. I do write sometimes to help me process my thoughts and find answers to questions I may have–even those unasked.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Kay says:

    I remember reading about this one when it came out. I do like Diane Keaton and have enjoyed her in so many movies. I’m not much of a non-fiction reader, but I might like this one on audio. Will see about getting it soon. Thanks!

    Like

  7. Candid Cover says:

    I had no idea that Diane Keaton had written a book! She is such an interesting and intriguing person. I will definitely have to pick this one up. Thanks for sharing! 🙂

    Like

  8. ljennison says:

    It speaks to making time to write no matter the circumstances. It sure can be hard to do sometimes. I really like the teaser and intro. Adding it to my TBR list. Thanks for coming by!

    Liked by 1 person

  9. sjhigbee says:

    I love that Harold Robbins quote! And certainly for that time – he was far too often right. This is my Tuesday Teaser – https://sjhigbee.wordpress.com/2016/09/13/teaser-tuesday-13th-september-2016/

    Liked by 1 person

  10. I am a fan of Diane Keaton, so I had to have this book, too. I enjoyed it! I also added another of hers to my shelf recently: Let’s Just Say It Wasn’t Pretty.

    Thanks for sharing, Ms. M, and for visiting my blog.

    Like

Leave a Reply

