First Chapter, First Paragraph & Tuesday Teaser: The Forgotten Garden by Kate Morton

fistchapFirst Chapter, First Paragraph, is a meme hosted by Bibliophile by the Sea.  Anyone can play — just copy the first paragraph of the first chapter (or prologue) and include a picture of the book cover. Leave your link at Bibliophile by the Sea.  Here’s the opening from Kate Morton‘s The Forgotten Garden.

London, 1913

It was dark where she was crouched but the little girl did as she’d been told.  The lady had said to wait, it wasn’t safe yet, they had to be as quiet as larder mice.  It was a game, just like hide-and-seek.

TeaserTuesdays-ADailyRhythm3-300x203

Teaser Tuesday is a weekly bookish meme, hosted by MizB of Books and a Beat.
Anyone can play along! Just do the following:

• Grab your current read
• Open to a random page
• Share two (2) “teaser” sentences from somewhere on that page
• BE CAREFUL NOT TO INCLUDE SPOILERS! (make sure that what you share doesn’t give too much away! You don’t want to ruin the book for others!)
• Share the title & author, too, so that other TT participants can add the book to their TBR Lists if they like your teasers!

Here’s mine from the same book:

Eliza’s throat was raw.  A hole opened up inside her, filled quickly with black fear.  The little girl was hers.

Have you read this book or others by Kate Morton?  What do you think?  Would you keep reading?  Leave a comment and a link to your FCFP & TT.  Thanks for stopping by.

About mysm2000

Having taught elementary school for more than 25 years and been involved in many amazing technology and curriculum projects, I find I've developed a myriad of interests based on literature I've read and music I've heard. I've followed The Wright Three to Chicago, Ansel Adams to Colorado, The Kon Tiki Expedition to Easter Island, Simon & Garfunkel lyrics to New York City, Frank Lloyd Wright to Fallingwater, Pennsylvania, and have only just begun.
This entry was posted in Adult Book, Meme, Mystery, Romance and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to First Chapter, First Paragraph & Tuesday Teaser: The Forgotten Garden by Kate Morton

  1. I know the author, but I haven’t read this one. Same genre like the others?

    Like

  2. Colline says:

    This one sounds good – and one that would keep you reading!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. sjhigbee says:

    I really need to get hold of this one, I think. Kate Morton is a great author which, to my shame, I haven’t yet got around to reading… Thank you for sharing it and visiting my site:) Have a great reading week, though with something of this quality, I think that’s guaranteed…

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Alice Audrey says:

    I take it the little girl is dead? Some game.

    Like

  5. Hfineisen says:

    This sounds mysterious. I would keep reading. I like Kate Morton. Enjoy!

    Like

  6. Diane D says:

    I’m curious for more. enjoy

    Like

  7. Oh, I always feel scared when a story involves a little one. Something bad is about to happen. I’d read a bit more.

    Like

  8. Kathy Martin says:

    This sounds really creepy. I haven’t heard of this book or author before. My teaser this week comes from the latest Otherworld anthology – Otherworld Chills by Kelley Armstrong. Happy reading!

    Like

  9. I am very frustrated with WP right now! This weekend, and occasionally today, my comments are “eaten” and placed in spam (I think that’s where you’ll find my first one).

    Trying again with my FB account.

    I enjoyed this book, which I read as an adult. I loved it! Thanks for sharing…and here’s mine: “COME AND FIND ME”

    Like

    • mysm2000 says:

      This is an adult book. You may be thinking of The Secret Garden which is actually mentioned in this book where the author makes an appearance at a garden party. Thanks for stopping by.

      Like

  10. fuonlyknew says:

    I’d keep reading. I’m curious what era it’s set in. Going to go check it out.

    My TT from Putting On The Witch

    Like

    • mysm2000 says:

      It changes time periods quite a bit from the early 20th century to mid-century to, I think, late or even early 21st century. I’m not at home so can’t check it out. Thanks for stopping by. I enjoyed your teaser today.

      Like

Leave a Reply

