First Chapter, First Paragraph & Teaser Tuesday: Letters to the Dead, a novel by Ava Dellaira

fistchapFirst Chapter, First Paragraph, is a meme hosted by Bibliophile by the Sea.  Anyone can play — just copy the first paragraph of the first chapter (or prologue) and include a picture of the book cover. Leave your link at Bibliophile by the Sea.  Here’s the opening from Letters to the Dead by Ava Dellaira:

loveLettersToTheDeadDear Kurt Cobain,

Mrs. Buster gave us our first assignment in English today, to write a letter to a dead person.  As if the letter could reach you in heaven, or at the post office for ghosts.  She probably meant for us to write to someone like a former president or something, but I need someone to talk to. I couldn’t talk to a president. I can talk to you.

TeaserTuesdays-ADailyRhythm3-300x203

Teaser Tuesday is a weekly bookish meme, hosted by MizB of Books and a Beat.
Anyone can play along! Just do the following:

• Grab your current read
• Open to a random page
• Share two (2) “teaser” sentences from somewhere on that page
• BE CAREFUL NOT TO INCLUDE SPOILERS! (make sure that what you share doesn’t give too much away! You don’t want to ruin the book for others!)
• Share the title & author, too, so that other TT participants can add the book to their TBR Lists if they like your teasers!  So, from the same novel:

(Laurel writing to Elizabeth Bishop after reading her poem in class)  I raised my hand before I could even think about it.  “I think it’s like when you lose something so close to you, it’s like losing yourself. That’s why at the end, it’s hard for her to write even. She can hardly remember how.  Because she barely knows what she is anymore.”

Would you keep reading?  This is a most unusual book.  Have you read it?  Leave a comment and a link to your own FCFP & TT.

About mysm2000

Having taught elementary school for more than 25 years and been involved in many amazing technology and curriculum projects, I find I've developed a myriad of interests based on literature I've read and music I've heard. I've followed The Wright Three to Chicago, Ansel Adams to Colorado, The Kon Tiki Expedition to Easter Island, Simon & Garfunkel lyrics to New York City, Frank Lloyd Wright to Fallingwater, Pennsylvania, and have only just begun.
This entry was posted in Adult Book, coming of age, fiction, Growing Up, Letters/Epistolary, Meme, Young People and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to First Chapter, First Paragraph & Teaser Tuesday: Letters to the Dead, a novel by Ava Dellaira

  1. I’m very curious about this book. Hope you enjoy it.

    Like

  2. Yes that is a great opener and I want to know more – the change in emotion from the jokey ghost post box to that last line really made my heart thud.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. This one sounds engaging. Thanks for sharing, and for visiting my blog.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. fuonlyknew says:

    I’d definitely read this one!

    My TT from Something Deadly

    Like

  5. Diane D says:

    What a great intro, I’d read more.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Kathy Martin says:

    I really liked this books when I read it. Thanks for bringing it back to my memory. My teaser comes from Living Spectres by Chelsea Quinn Yarbro – an historical mystery. Happy reading!

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Beth F says:

    That’s a great opener

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

