On My Bookshelf: Nov. 18/16

Time once again to look at some of the new acquisitions on my ever-growing To-Be-Read shelf.  Things do tend to literally (pun intended) pile up.  Here’s what’s new On My Bookshelf:

Rogue Lawyer by John Grisham

I always enjoy a Grisham novel and usually find them a fast read.  Looking forward to this one.

roguelawyergrisham

Second Glance by Jodi Picoult

This will be the second Jodi Picoult book for me.  It appeals for a couple of reasons: a) it has to do with archaeology which I am quite keen on and b) it involves aboriginal burial grounds and folk lore which is also an interest of mine.  Want to get to this one soon.

secondglance

Son of Blood by Jack Ludlow

I usually find Ludlow books at my local Giant Tiger (only in Canada, sorry) and I’ve read a number of them.  I especially enjoy the medieval setting of 11th century Italy and the inevitable fighting and intrigue.

sonofblood

Dashing Through the Snow by Debbie Macomber

I thought it was time to get into the Christmas spirit of snow, twinkling lights and a bit of romance.

dashingthroughthesnow

The Life She Wants by Robyn Carr

I can always count on Robyn Carr for an interesting read.  This book is about starting over after shattering, life-changing events and learning to forgive and love again.  Sounds cozy.

thelifeshewants

Necessary Breaking Points: Staying Connected with God During Crises

by Frances P. Wilson

Frances Wilson was a missionary nurse in West Africa for 12 years and I’ve met her.  I’ve been impressed by her quiet, unassuming demeanour, and am looking forward to reading this one soon.

necessarybreakingpoints

Child of the River by Irma Joubert

I don’t know this author at all.  Here is what the cover says:  “A compelling coming of age story with an unlikely and utterly memorable heroine . . . a timeless tale of heartbreak and triumph set in South Africa at the dawn of apartheid.”  Sounds intriguing!

childoftheriver

Jamie Quinn Mystery Collection by Barbara Venkataraman

I hadn’t heard of this author before either but had an email asking if I would read and review it.  Checked it out and found it interesting and agreed.  Hope to read it soon.

jamiequinnmysterycollection

What’s on your bookshelf?  If you have a post telling us, leave a link along with your comment.  Thanks for stopping by.

About mysm2000

Having taught elementary school for more than 25 years and been involved in many amazing technology and curriculum projects, I find I've developed a myriad of interests based on literature I've read and music I've heard. I've followed The Wright Three to Chicago, Ansel Adams to Colorado, The Kon Tiki Expedition to Easter Island, Simon & Garfunkel lyrics to New York City, Frank Lloyd Wright to Fallingwater, Pennsylvania, and have only just begun.
This entry was posted in Adult Book, Author, Christian, Christmas, Meme, Musings, Mystery, Romance, Spiritual Growth, Thriller and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

