First Chapter, First Paragraph & Teaser Tuesday: The Life She Wants by Robyn Carr

fistchapFirst Chapter, First Paragraph, is a meme hosted by Bibliophile by the Sea.  Anyone can play — just copy the first paragraph of the first chapter (or prologue) and include a picture of the book cover. Leave your link at Bibliophile by the Sea.  Here’s the opening from The Life She Wants by Robyn Carr:

Prologue

When the truth became brutally evident she wondered how it had escaped her for so long.

thelifeshewantsEmma Shay Compton knew that her marriage to Richard looked like a fairy tale to many and though she had loved Richard, she had always felt something was lacking.  She couldn’t put her finger on it, it was so vague. Richard was good to her, generous, though he was an extremely busy man, and soon after their wedding he became remote.  Distant. She told herself mega-rich brokers don’t sit around the house coddling their young wives; they work sixteen-hour days. They’re never far from their phones. They seem to command multitudes. And if a person, even his wife, wanted to get on his calendar, she had to plan ahead. So, whenever she felt that something was wrong with her marriage, she’d blame herself.

TeaserTuesdays-ADailyRhythm3-300x203Teaser Tuesday is a weekly bookish meme, hosted by MizB of Books and a Beat.
Anyone can play along! Just do the following:

• Grab your current read
• Open to a random page
• Share two (2) “teaser” sentences from somewhere on that page
• BE CAREFUL NOT TO INCLUDE SPOILERS! (make sure that what you share doesn’t give too much away! You don’t want to ruin the book for others!)
• Share the title & author, too, so that other TT participants can add the book to their TBR Lists if they like your teasers!  So, from the same novel:

The next six years were a blur.  Emma didn’t return to Santa Rosa except for very brief visits and he didn’t see her. (p.77)

I haven’t actually started reading this one yet, so this teaser is totally random.  Hope you found it intriguing.  Have you read this one?  I’ve read quite a few novels by this author.  My sister put me on to her and I quite enjoy them — usually a fast read.  Leave a link to your teaser and comment if you’ve read either this book or another by Carr and tell us if you liked it.

About mysm2000

Having taught elementary school for more than 25 years and been involved in many amazing technology and curriculum projects, I find I've developed a myriad of interests based on literature I've read and music I've heard. I've followed The Wright Three to Chicago, Ansel Adams to Colorado, The Kon Tiki Expedition to Easter Island, Simon & Garfunkel lyrics to New York City, Frank Lloyd Wright to Fallingwater, Pennsylvania, and have only just begun.
This entry was posted in Adult Book, Author, fiction, Meme, Romance and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to First Chapter, First Paragraph & Teaser Tuesday: The Life She Wants by Robyn Carr

  1. Diane D says:

    Sorry I’m a little late responding but this has been a stressful week with testing and doctor appointments.

    I’m curious to know more about this book.

    I hope you and your family have a special Thanksgiving.

    Like

    • mysm2000 says:

      I hope your test results come back with good news. Have a great Thanksgiving regardless. I’ll certainly write a review when I finish this book — have 1 or 2 others ahead of it. I totally understand ‘stressful’ — give it over to God.

      Like

  2. I’ve always enjoyed this author’s books and would keep reading.

    Like

  3. I am a recent fan of Robyn Carr, and I loved this book. Thanks for sharing…and for visiting my blog.

    Like

  4. I haven’t read Robyn Carr, but this looks like an interesting story. Girl Who Reads

    Like

    • mysm2000 says:

      I’ve read a lot of her books. She has a series that adds and changes characters a lot but it is lots of fun. I’m looking forward to this one as it seems a bit different than her series. I enjoyed your teaser today as well. Thanks for stopping by.

      Like

  5. Sounds like she’s in a tough situation. I haven’t read Robyn Carr before, but might be tempted by this one, Hope you enjoy it!

    Like

  6. Hmmm…makes me want to find out what happened six years ago to keep her away! Here is my teaser: http://booklovingmommy.blogspot.com/2016/11/teaser-tuesday-beautiful-affliction-by.html

    Like

  7. Literary Feline says:

    I have never read anything by Robyn Carr, not that I can remember anyway. This one does sound interesting though, and I hope you enjoy it! I am curious to know more about Emma and her situation. Thank you for sharing!

    Like

Leave a Reply

