First Chapter, First Paragraph & Teaser Tuesday: Child of the River by Irma Joubert

fistchapFirst Chapter, First Paragraph, is a meme hosted by Bibliophile by the Sea.  Anyone can play — just copy the first paragraph of the first chapter (or prologue) and include a picture of the book cover. Leave your link at Bibliophile by the Sea.  Here’s the opening from Child of the River by Irma Joubert:

July 1938

childoftheriverOne winter’s morning when Pérsomi was eleven, her brother Gerbrand said out of the blue: “Ma, I’m going to Joburg. To find a job in the mines.”

Pérsomi stood in the feeble winter sun just outside the back door, her back pressed to the wall, her bare toes burrowing into the gray sand.  Gerbrand stood in the doorway. If she reached out her hand, she could touch him.  But she didn’t.  Gerbrand didn’t like being touched.  She knew, because he and Piet shared a mattress, and if Piet happened to come too close, Gerbrand let fly with his fists.  Piet was older, but Gerbrand was stronger.

TeaserTuesdays-ADailyRhythm3-300x203

Teaser Tuesday is a weekly bookish meme, hosted by MizB of Books and a Beat.
Anyone can play along! Just do the following:

• Grab your current read
• Open to a random page
• Share two (2) “teaser” sentences from somewhere on that page
• BE CAREFUL NOT TO INCLUDE SPOILERS! (make sure that what you share doesn’t give too much away! You don’t want to ruin the book for others!)
• Share the title & author, too, so that other TT participants can add the book to their TBR Lists if they like your teasers!  So, from the same novel:

“Girl, where’s your book?”

“Oh, sir,” Irene spoke loudly, Pérsomi is a welfare child, she must get free books.”  p. 66

Would you keep reading?  This is the first book I’ve read by Joubert and I’m thoroughly enjoying it.  I’m going to have to read The Girl on the Train now, too, because Joubert is such an amazing writer.  Leave a comment and a link to your First Chapter, First Paragraph and Teaser Tuesday page.

About mysm2000

Having taught elementary school for more than 25 years and been involved in many amazing technology and curriculum projects, I find I've developed a myriad of interests based on literature I've read and music I've heard. I've followed The Wright Three to Chicago, Ansel Adams to Colorado, The Kon Tiki Expedition to Easter Island, Simon & Garfunkel lyrics to New York City, Frank Lloyd Wright to Fallingwater, Pennsylvania, and have only just begun.
This entry was posted in Adult Book and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to First Chapter, First Paragraph & Teaser Tuesday: Child of the River by Irma Joubert

  1. Diane D says:

    I’d read more, I like the intro. Hope you are enjoying this and Happy Holidays.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Although the opening doesn’t reveal much, I’m still interested in reading more.

    Liked by 2 people

  3. fuonlyknew says:

    I like how the writing flows. And how quickly I connected with the characters already.

    My TT from Mercury Retrograde

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Kathy Martin says:

    Interesting teasers. I am glad you are enjoying it. Thanks for visiting my blog. Happy reading!

    Liked by 2 people

  5. This does sound intriguing – I want to know more that’s for sure! Thank you so much for sharing and visiting my blog.

    Liked by 2 people

  6. I agree with Laurel-Rain. This sounds fascinating. I haven’t tried this author before, but am adding her to my list of authors to try. I am glad you are enjoying it! Thank you for sharing!

    Liked by 2 people

    • mysm2000 says:

      This is the author of The Girl on the Train which everyone has been raving about. I didn’t think I wanted to read it but now I can’t wait to get to it. Thanks for stopping by and leaving a comment.

      Like

  7. Fascinating! I am curious, now, and want to know more. Thanks for sharing….and for visiting my blog.

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

