First Chapter First Paragraph & Teaser Tuesday: Hope Has Two Daughters by Monia Mazigh

fistchapFirst Chapter, First Paragraph, is a meme hosted by Bibliophile by the Sea.  Anyone can play — just copy the first paragraph of the first chapter (or prologue) and include a picture of the book cover. Leave your link at Bibliophile by the Sea.  This week I’m hoping to read Hope Has Two Daughters by Monia Maizgh:

Tunis, January 3, 1984

hopehastwodaughtersI sat there grimacing in pain, legs splayed, butt glued to the toilet seat. Sharp craps stabbed my bowels with clockwork precision.  A stinking torrent of diarrhea gushed out of me like super-heated water from a geyser, bringing sudden relief from the intense pain I’d been suffering minutes before.  I felt better already.  I looked around me and out underneath the wooden door with the peeling paint.  The restroom was filthy — the tile floor was the colour of the mud that had been tracked in by the restaurant customers.  I heard steps in the cubicle next to mine, followed by a loud hiss of urine that seemed unending.  Then came a whoosh as the toilet flushed.  I sat there motionless, ashamed; I couldn’t get up; I didn’t want anyone to see me.  I had no idea what exactly had happened.  I’d stopped off for a kefati at this greasy spoon.  But before I’d swallowed the last mouthful my bowels were growling so loud you could hear them.  Violent cramps convulsed my whole body.  I barely made it in time.

I think the book gets better as it goes along.  Not really what I wanted to read as I was prepping for my colonoscopy.

teaser-tuesdaysTeaser Tuesday is a weekly bookish meme, now being hosted by Ambrosia of  The Purple Booker.
Anyone can play along! Just do the following:

• Grab your current read
• Open to a random page
• Share two (2) “teaser” sentences from somewhere on that page
• BE CAREFUL NOT TO INCLUDE SPOILERS! (make sure that what you share doesn’t give too much away! You don’t want to ruin the book for others!)
• Share the title & author, too, so that other TT participants can add the book to their TBR Lists if they like your teasers!  So, from the same novel:

I was the only one who knew their story — a simple, innocent love story that comforted me and amazed me, for in it I saw the power of love and how it could make people dream and inspire them with courage.  Neila and Mounir’s story, with their secret outings, the messages scribbled on pages torn from their school notebooks, and the strolls along the beach at La Goulette, reflected another reality, one that I knew only from the books I read and the films I saw with Neila. p. 21

See?  It does get better!  Have you read this book?  Have you read something else by this author?  Share your thoughts  below and link to your post for today.

About mysm2000

Having taught elementary school for more than 25 years and been involved in many amazing technology and curriculum projects, I find I've developed a myriad of interests based on literature I've read and music I've heard. I've followed The Wright Three to Chicago, Ansel Adams to Colorado, The Kon Tiki Expedition to Easter Island, Simon & Garfunkel lyrics to New York City, Frank Lloyd Wright to Fallingwater, Pennsylvania, and have only just begun.
This entry was posted in Adult Book, Historical Fiction, Meme and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to First Chapter First Paragraph & Teaser Tuesday: Hope Has Two Daughters by Monia Mazigh

  1. Pingback: Hope Has Two Daughters by Monia Mazigh | Ms M's Bookshelf

Leave a Reply

