First Chapter, First Paragraph & Teaser Tuesday: Ahab’s Wife: Or, The Star-Gazer by Sena Jeter Naslund

fistchapFirst Chapter, First Paragraph, is a meme hosted by Bibliophile by the Sea.  Anyone can play — just copy the first paragraph of the first chapter (or prologue) and include a picture of the book cover. Leave your link at Bibliophile by the Sea.  This week I’m hoping to read Ahab’s Wife: Or, The Star-Gazer by Sena Jeter Naslund:

Chapter 1: A Mild Blue Day

ahabswifeCaptain Ahab was neither my first husband nor my last. Yet, looking up — into the clouds — I conjure him there: his gray-white hair; his gathered brow; and the zaggy mark (I saw it when lying with him by candlelight and, also, taking our bliss on the sunny moor among curly-cup gumweed and lamb’s ear). And I see a zaggy shadow now in the rifting clouds. That mark started like lightning at Ahab’s temple and ran not all the way to his heel (as some thought) but ended at Ahab’s heart.

teaser-tuesdaysTeaser Tuesday is a weekly bookish meme, now being hosted by Ambrosia of  The Purple Booker.
Anyone can play along! Just do the following:

• Grab your current read
• Open to a random page
• Share two (2) “teaser” sentences from somewhere on that page
• BE CAREFUL NOT TO INCLUDE SPOILERS! (make sure that what you share doesn’t give too much away! You don’t want to ruin the book for others!)
• Share the title & author, too, so that other TT participants can add the book to their TBR Lists if they like your teasers!  So, from the same novel:

Even as a child, I wanted to know what words meant and marked those occasions when I did learn as memorable. (p.1)

His ghost rides by in black; standing at his knee, the whip, its lash dangling like a thin banner. (p.2)

What do you think?  Would you keep reading?  Maybe you’ve already read this book.  Tell us your thoughts.

About mysm2000

Having taught elementary school for more than 25 years and been involved in many amazing technology and curriculum projects, I find I've developed a myriad of interests based on literature I've read and music I've heard. I've followed The Wright Three to Chicago, Ansel Adams to Colorado, The Kon Tiki Expedition to Easter Island, Simon & Garfunkel lyrics to New York City, Frank Lloyd Wright to Fallingwater, Pennsylvania, and have only just begun.
This entry was posted in Adult Book, Adventure, Author, Meme, Romance and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

30 Responses to First Chapter, First Paragraph & Teaser Tuesday: Ahab’s Wife: Or, The Star-Gazer by Sena Jeter Naslund

  1. yvonne473 says:

    Interesting teaser!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Those quotes are quite powerful. I’m a bit curious now. Thank you for sharing!
    My Teaser Tuesday is: Conversion by Katherine Howe

    Liked by 1 person

  3. sjhigbee says:

    I take it that this is some sort of retelling of ‘Moby Dick’? Are you enjoying reading it? The writing style certainly packs a punch. Thank you for sharing it.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Diane D says:

    Lorraine, I read this one about 10 years ago when it was first released and thought it was pretty good. Hope u enjoy it.

    Like

  5. LOVE the description in your Teaser and in the opening. “Taking our bliss” is such a lovely phrase.
    My Tuesday post features A Thread of Truth.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Great opening line. This is a book that I wanted to read when it was first published. Thanks for reminding me about it.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. fuonlyknew says:

    At first glance, I didn’t think I’d want to read this. That powerful, descriptive writing drew me right in.

    My TT from House Of Seven Days

    Like

  8. Swati says:

    Oh my, that’s one interesting beginning. Happy reading! Thanks for sharing … and visiting my blog…

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Fascinating! Thanks for sharing and tempting me. Thanks for visiting my blog.

    Like

  10. Kay says:

    I have not read this book, though I first saw it years ago. It’s quite a long one, isn’t it? I don’t know that it would be for me, but I do hope you enjoy it.

    Like

Leave a Reply

