First Chapter, First Paragraph & Teaser Tuesday: The Seven Year Dress by Paulette Mahurin

First Chapter, First Paragraph, is a meme hosted by Bibliophile by the Sea.  Anyone can play — just copy the first paragraph of the first chapter (or prologue) and include a picture of the book cover. Leave your link at Bibliophile by the Sea.  The book I’m dying to start is by a contemporary author I’ve grown to truly appreciate in the last few years, Paulette Mahurin both because of her writing and her impeccable research.  So, here is the opening from her book, The Seven Year Dress:

Prologue  — Present Day

I was looking to rent a room. She was looking for family. I needed a place to live. She needed to fill an empty void in her heart. But it would take me a few weeks to realize the role I was to play in her life.

 

Teaser Tuesday is a weekly bookish meme, now being hosted by Ambrosia of  The Purple Booker.
Anyone can play along! Just do the following:

• Grab your current read
• Open to a random page
• Share two (2) “teaser” sentences from somewhere on that page
• BE CAREFUL NOT TO INCLUDE SPOILERS! (make sure that what you share doesn’t give too much away! You don’t want to ruin the book for others!)
• Share the title & author, too, so that other TT participants can add the book to their TBR Lists if they like your teasers!  So, from the same novel:

I didn’t understand what all the fuss was about and was sickened when I overheard a conversation between two teachers in my school. In the hallway on my way from class to recess, I passed an open door and heard something about Hitler. Curious, I leaned against a wall and pretended to fix my shoe, and listened. (p.35)

Would you keep reading? Have you read this book already? Have you read other books by Mahurin? Share your thoughts and leave a link to your teaser.

 

About mysm2000

Having taught elementary school for more than 25 years and been involved in many amazing technology and curriculum projects, I find I've developed a myriad of interests based on literature I've read and music I've heard. I've followed The Wright Three to Chicago, Ansel Adams to Colorado, The Kon Tiki Expedition to Easter Island, Simon & Garfunkel lyrics to New York City, Frank Lloyd Wright to Fallingwater, Pennsylvania, and have only just begun.
This entry was posted in Adult Book, Historical Fiction, Meme and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to First Chapter, First Paragraph & Teaser Tuesday: The Seven Year Dress by Paulette Mahurin

  1. I am not familiar with this book, but it does sound like something I would like. Thank you for sharing!

    Like

  2. yvonne473 says:

    I haven’t heard of this one before. It sounds good.

    Like

  3. This one certainly got my attention.Thank you for sharing! 🙂 My Teaser Tuesday is The Eternal Ones by Kirsten Miller

    Liked by 1 person

  4. This is a new-to-me title. I like the intro–which leaves me wanting to know more. The title does the same.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. I haven’t seen this one before but LOVE that blurb and teaser. It also had me with mention of Hitler. I love fiction set in that era. Great choice of reading and keep going!

    Like

  6. Diane D says:

    This one sounds great – off to read more about it.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Okay, now you’ve really piqued my curiosity! Thanks for sharing…and for visiting my blog.

    Like

  8. Pingback: Thank you Ms M’s Bookshelf for this very pleasant surprise. | The Persecution of Mildred Dunlap

  9. Beth F says:

    I liked the opening and the teaser.

    Like

  10. This author is new to me, but I’m intrigued by both the book’s opening and the Teaser you chose. The book’s title makes me curious, too. This sounds like a story I’d enjoy.
    My Tuesday post features The Boys in the Boat.

    Like

Leave a Reply

