First Chapter, First Paragraph & Teaser Tuesday: Wedlock by Wendy Moore

First Chapter, First Paragraph, is a meme hosted by Bibliophile by the Sea.  Anyone can play — just copy the first paragraph of the first chapter (or prologue) and include a picture of the book cover. Leave your link at Bibliophile by the Sea.  Today’s intro and teaser are from a book I’m hoping to get to soon.  It’s been on my shelf for awhile and is a book I first learned of through these memes.  Based on a true story, here is the beginning of Wendy Moore‘s history of  Mary Eleanor Bowes, Countess of Strathmore, Wedlock:

An Affair of Honour — London, January 13, 1777

Settling down to read his newspaper by the candlelight illuminating the dining room of the Adelphi Tavern, John Hull anticipated a quiet evening. Having opened five years earlier, as an integral part of the vast Adelphi development designed by the Adam brothers on the north bank of the Thames, the Adelphi Tavern and Coffee House had established a reputation for its fine dinners and genteel company. Many an office worker like Hull, a clerk at the government’s Salt Office, sought refuge from the clamor of the nearby Strand in the tavern’s upper-floor dining room with its elegant ceiling panels depicting Pan and Bacchus in pastel shades. On a Monday evening in January, with the day’s work behind him, Hull could expect to read his paper undisturbed.

Teaser Tuesday is a weekly bookish meme, now being hosted by Ambrosia of  The Purple Booker.
Anyone can play along! Just do the following:

• Grab your current read
• Open to a random page
• Share two (2) “teaser” sentences from somewhere on that page
• BE CAREFUL NOT TO INCLUDE SPOILERS! (make sure that what you share doesn’t give too much away! You don’t want to ruin the book for others!)
• Share the title & author, too, so that other TT participants can add the book to their TBR Lists if they like your teasers!  So, from the same book:

The man who reluctantly surrendered his sword now fell swooning to the floor, and in the light of candles brought by servants, a large blood stain could be seen seeping across his waistcoat. p.2

Another [maid] overheard Bowes order Mary to tell the servants she had received a black eye by accident and stated: “His whole behaviour was cruel and ill-natured in general, and not confined to particular instances.” p.153

Based on the intro and teasers, would you keep reading?  Are you familiar with the author or the Countess?  If you’ve read this already, please share what you thought of the book.  Don’t forget to link to your post for First Chapter, First Paragraph, or Teaser Tuesday.

About mysm2000

Having taught elementary school for more than 25 years and been involved in many amazing technology and curriculum projects, I find I've developed a myriad of interests based on literature I've read and music I've heard. I've followed The Wright Three to Chicago, Ansel Adams to Colorado, The Kon Tiki Expedition to Easter Island, Simon & Garfunkel lyrics to New York City, Frank Lloyd Wright to Fallingwater, Pennsylvania, and have only just begun.
This entry was posted in Adult Book, Biography, History and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to First Chapter, First Paragraph & Teaser Tuesday: Wedlock by Wendy Moore

  1. So I’m guesses that that means that it doesn’t matter that he’s hurt, because he’s not a great guy? Great teaser! Thanks for stopping by! Happy reading!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. HF and great teaser – right up my alley! thanks for sharing.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Yvo says:

    Great teaser! I’m not sure if it’s for me, but I hope you are enjoying it!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Alice Audrey says:

    I don’t think I’d read this. I prefer my marriages a little less violent.

    Liked by 1 person

    • mysm2000 says:

      My understanding is that she turns out to be a force to reckon with. And it is supposed to be basically a biography so I’m interested to see what happens. Glad you stopped by.

      Like

  5. Wow, when someone is settling down for an undisturbed evening, you know that something is going to happen to disturb him. Definitely fascinating! Thanks for sharing, and for visiting my blog.

    Liked by 1 person

    • mysm2000 says:

      You’re welcome. I always enjoy your teasers. Someone asked me recently how I pick such good books and I replied that I go to bloggers who participate in First Chapter, First Paragraph and Teaser Tuesdays and my TBR list just gets bigger and bigger with great books. Thanks for coming by.

      Like

Leave a Reply

