On My Bookshelf: July 28/17

I had a birthday last week and got a gift card from my sister for Chapters ( a Canadian bookstore for real and online) and so have managed to pick up a few more books (which I swore I wouldn’t do until my TBR list got more of a dent in it) in addition to some I’ve found on my bookshelves that I forgot I had.  Go figure.  So here’s what I’m hoping to read soon:

Lion by Saroo Brierley

Wanted to see the movie and never did so am looking forward to reading the story.

The Girl in the Spider’s Web by David Lagercrantz

A modern story about hacking and crusading journalism, cybercriminals and spies.

An Officer and a Spy by Robert Harris

This is about the Dreyfus affair in France (1895), something I next next to nothing about until I read a book on this topic by Paulette Mahurin and found it such a fascinating chapter in history that I’m looking forward to reading more about it.

Final Stop, Algiers by Mishka Ben-David

This is an ARC edition from Net Galley that I hope will be as exciting as it sounds and will pretty much have to be the next book I read.

The Proposal by Lily Zante

This is the first book in A Perfect Match series but now has a prequel as well as sequels.  Haven’t read this author before but am looking forward to it.

Ask Me Again — An Inspirational Romance — Book 1 by Kara Kinsley

Don’t know this author, either, but expect it to be a cozy read.

Stories from the War by Autumn M. Birt

This is a dystopian thriller (not my usual fare), first in the series, Friends of My Enemy.  Sounds interesting so I’m looking forward to it.

Rosemary Cottage by Colleen Coble

This is part of the Hope Beach series and from the prologue, it may not be the cozy read I thought it.

Read any of these?  Leave a note to tell me what you thought of it/them, then tell me what’s on your shelf.  Thanks for dropping by My Bookshelf.

About mysm2000

Having taught elementary school for more than 25 years and been involved in many amazing technology and curriculum projects, I find I've developed a myriad of interests based on literature I've read and music I've heard. I've followed The Wright Three to Chicago, Ansel Adams to Colorado, The Kon Tiki Expedition to Easter Island, Simon & Garfunkel lyrics to New York City, Frank Lloyd Wright to Fallingwater, Pennsylvania, and have only just begun.
This entry was posted in Adult Book, Adventure, Biography, Historical Fiction, Musings, Mystery, Romance, Spy Thriller, Thriller and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to On My Bookshelf: July 28/17

  1. FictionFan says:

    Oh, I loved An Officer and a Spy! He’s such a great writer and the research is clearly brilliant so that, although it’s fictionalised, I believe it’s very historically accurate. Hope you enjoy it!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

