Cozy Read Wednesday: Ask Me Again by Kara Kinsley

Today’s cozy read is by an author with whom I was unfamiliar until I came across this novella.  She has written 20 books, all romances, and there is definitely an emphasis on faith.  The full title is Ask Me Again – An Inspirational Romance – Book 1.  I think I was attracted by the cute cover.  What I didn’t realize was this is not book 1 in a series but book 1 in a trilogy — something I don’t normally read.

Tricia and Devin were childhood friends and have reconnected after a number of years when Tricia’s family had moved to the other side of the county.  Both are taking courses to help them look to a brighter future and both are parenting their mothers who have turned to substance abuse to cope with their lots in life.  Devin has been working as a firefighter and is taking college courses to get into university; he helped Tricia get a job in dispatch with the fire department to enable her to support her dream of becoming a physiotherapist.  For now they’re just really good friends but each is feeling something more that they’re afraid to explore in case they ruin their friendship.

This is a good plot with lots of surprises (most of them not good) and each character is trying to be supportive of the other through the trying times.  Tricia, in particular, is praying but not really certain someone is listening.  I tend to feel a bit cheated when a “book” only take me a couple of hours to read and it turns out you have to read two more of them to get to the outcome.  The three parts of this trilogy (I haven’t seen it referred to as such anywhere else) would probably make a decent paperback novel.  I won’t call it a cliffhanger because the story is too predictable to make me want to get the rest of the story.  I also felt the book could have been edited better.  The characters are cute and the plot decent enough.  If you’re interested, I’d get all three and read them right through.  Disappointing.  * *

About mysm2000

Having taught elementary school for more than 25 years and been involved in many amazing technology and curriculum projects, I find I've developed a myriad of interests based on literature I've read and music I've heard. I've followed The Wright Three to Chicago, Ansel Adams to Colorado, The Kon Tiki Expedition to Easter Island, Simon & Garfunkel lyrics to New York City, Frank Lloyd Wright to Fallingwater, Pennsylvania, and have only just begun.
This entry was posted in Adult Book, Opinion, Romance and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

